Lie To Me

“LIE TO ME, the compelling new drama from the producers of 24, stars Tim Roth (“The Incredible Hulk,” “Reservoir Dogs”) as DR. CAL LIGHTMAN, the world’s leading deception expert who studies facial expressions and involuntary body language to discover not only if someone is lying, but why. When someone shrugs one shoulder, rotates a hand or raises the lower lip, Lightman knows he’s lying.

Based on the real-life scientific discoveries of Paul Ekman, the series follows Lightman and his team of deception experts as they assist law enforcement and government agencies to expose the truth behind the lies.”

 

 

So far, we’re two episodes in and I am still unsure if its something I’ll bother to watch every time its on.

I like the idea of Lie to Me, but I don’t think they need to explain exactly how the detectives know when people are lying all of the time.  Obviously, the actors portrying the ‘liars’ aren’t actually lying and so do not have those micro-expressions that reveal that they are.  Therefore, audiences can also see when people are lying.  Maybe this is what they were trying to do; to make people feel smart when they’re watching the show, but I like the characters in my TV shows to be smarter than me (if they are supposed to be smart) and know at least a few things I don’t.

Before Lie To Me started and Channel Ten were advertising it ALOT, Tim Roth was always mentioned in the ads, which had me thinking ‘Who the hell is Tim Roth?’  Turns out he’s been in a lot of stuff, it’s just I’ve never watched any of it.  He has 70 items listed on IMDb including Reservoir Dogs, Heart of Darkness, Pulp Fiction, Planet of the Apes and The Incredible Hulk. 

The other stars of the show are Kelli Williams, Brendan Hines and Monica Raymund.  It was created by Samuel Baum.

I do like Lie To Me; I just hope that it will grow on me and I’ll like it even more.

Links: IMDb, Lie To Me at FOX 

~ by vanityandpride on February 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
