My Thoughts on Oscars 2009 Part 1

  • It was a great idea, I think, to have Hugh Jackman hosting.  I liked the parts where he was talking, but the opening number was more bizarre than wonderful and funny.  Anne Hathaway was unexpectedly impressive, though, and the singing and dancing bits weren’t bad after that first part.  I actually really liked the one with Beyonce, Zac Efron and Vanessa Hudgens and Dominic Cooper and Amanda Seyfried (“The musical is back!”)
  • Anne Hathway looked very pretty, but I feel like this dress was a little unflattering on her hips.

anne-hathaway-in-armani-prive

  • Zac Efron and Vanessa Hudgens:

zac-efron-on-the-red-carpet-in-a-dolce-gabbana-tuxedo-with-a-vintage-rolex-watch-and-bally-shoes-vanessa-hudgens-in-marchesa1

I’m not much of a fan of theirs’ but they do both look pretty damn good.

  • Dominic Cooper looking very happy to be there.  Nothing too special about his outfit but he does look good.

dominic-cooper-from-mamma-mia-is-wearing-burberry-and-performing-in-the-show

 

  • Whose idea was it to get Daniel Craig and Sarah Jessica Parker to present an award?  They seem like a very odd pairing.  Daniel Craig wasn’t bad but I really didn’t like SJP.  I’m biased, though (I like Daniel Craig and dislike Sarah Jessica Parker anyway).
  • I do like what SJP wore – very glamourous, and it looked even better on TV than what it does here:

sarah-jessica-parker-in-dior-haute-couture

  • Daniel Craig looked sharp, but I would have made the bow tie a little bigger.

daniel-craig

 

  • Robert Pattinson and Amanda Seyfried were brilliant – sweet and funny! 
  • Robert looked great but I can’t find any pictures.  The GFY girls described it well when they said, “Robert Pattinson is on the red carpet. Looking like Robert Pattinson.”
  • Amanda – not so much (looking great, I mean, not looking like Robert Pattinson).

amanda-seyfried-in-valentino-haute-couture-jimmy-choo-shoes-a-clutch-by-kotur-and-fred-leighton-jewelry

It isn’t such a bad colour, but it would benefit from fitting her better annd being a bit shorter.  I’m not sure what shoud have been done with the bow – getting rid of it completely would have made in boring, making it smaller probably wouldn’t have achieved anything … maybe if it was in a different colour/fabric?

 

  • It was good that they included Twilight in the Romance film package.  Kinda surprising – I thought the Academy would have ignored it completely, but I guess they couldn’t really because it is so popular and it has made and will continue to make so much money.
  • Natalie Portman and Ben Stiller were alright, I guess …
  • Natalie Portman looked really pretty.

natalie-portman-in-a-bubble-gum-pink-gown-by-rodarte

It’s definitely not my favourite colour, but it looked fabulous on her.  Also loved her accessories and makeup.

  • Ben Stiller probably looked alright under the Joaquin Phoenix beard, but I never saw him without it so I don’t know.

 

  • So pleased that The Duchess won in the Costume Design category.  Go Michael Connor!

michael-connor-accepting-costume-design-oscar-for-duchess

 

  • Loved Penelope Cruz’ speech, even though I have no idea what she was saying in that last bit (Spanish!)
  • Penelope also looked gorgeous.  I love this dress!  The lace is so pretty.

penelope-cruz

 

  • Watching the Oscars made me think that I should start watching short films.
  • I loved the whole Best Actress category: what each of the previous said to their nominees as well as Kate Winslet’s speech.
  • I also loved Kate Winslet’s dress.  I heard someone call it “safe”, but I don’t think it is all that safe.  There is quite a bit going on in this dress and it is so gorgeous.  I especially like the back, but I can’t find a picture of that.  Just because it actually looks good doesn’t mean that it is safe.

kate-winslet-in-yves-sain-laurent-gown-and-shoes

 

  • Since she was also in the Best Actress category for The Changeling, I’ll comment here on what Angelina Jolie was wearing.

angelina-jolie-in-elie-saab-and-brad-pitt

I really like this.  I’m sure some people will call it boring as they often do with Angelina’s outfits (which they sometimes are), but this is classic and elegant and I love her accessories (which you can’t see very well in this pic).  On TV, I could see the gorgeous green colour of her earrings and (enormous) ring and they were so, so pretty.

Brad Pitt also looked great (as usual).  I especially liked his shoes for some reason.

 

  • Miley Cyrus looked interesting:

miley-cyrus-is-wearing-a-zuhair-murad-dress-with-a-sparkly-v-neck-bodice-and-tiered-skirt81st_cyrusm_032

She does look very pretty (I especially like her hair), but I think the tiered skirt on this dress might be just a bit too tiered.  And sparkly.

 

I’ll have some more about the Oscars later.

All pictures from oscars.com and nymag.com.

Part 2.

~ by vanityandpride on February 23, 2009.

One Response to “My Thoughts on Oscars 2009 Part 1”

  1. […] My Thoughts on Oscars 2009 Part 2 Here is Part 1. […]

Leave a Reply

 
