My Thoughts on Oscars 2009 Part 2

Here is Part 1.

  • Viola Davis looked fantastic, I think.  This dress isn’t something that I’d like if I saw it hanging on a rack, but on her it is so good.  And so shiny!

viola-davis-in-reem-acra

The guy behind her, on the right, looks like he’s being simultaneously mesmerised and blinded by the shiny, shiny dress, and the others can’t even look at it for fear of the same thing happening to them.

 

  • Taraji Henson also looked great – one of my favourites.

taraji-henson-in-a-roberto-cavalli-gown-fred-leighton-jewels-jimmy-choo-shoes-and-a-bag-by-mary-norton

I love that maroon/red clutch with the dress, her necklace, her hair, the actual dress … I love everything about it.

 

  • Meryl Streep and Sophia Loren

sophia-loren-and-meryl-streep

I like Meryl Streep’s dress.  It manages to not be drab despite the colour and simplicity and it doesn’t overwhelm her.  She’s wearing the dress; the dress isn’t wearing her.

I hate Sophia Loren’s look.  The big hair, the makeup, the sleeves, the ruffled skirt!  The best thing I can say about this is that I like the colour.

 

  • Philip Seymour Hoffman looked interesting …

philip-seymour-hoffman-on-the-red-carpet

The suit is alright, I guess, but what’s with the beanie?  Despite this, I find myself not really caring what he was wearing.  Philip is hardly a fashionista and the reasons why people like him – why I like him – have nothing to do with his clothes.

 

  • Now for the Slumdog crew:

slumdog-millionaire-child-actors-back-row-ashotash-lobo-gajiwala-tanvi-ganesh-and-tanay-hermant-chheda-front-row-mohammed-azharuddin-ismail-rubina-ali-qweshi-ayush-mahesh-khede

Don’t they all look great?  I especially like the girl in the back’s dress – very pretty.  I also loved how they seemed to be such a tight-knit group, moving everywhere together in a little block, and that they seemed to be genuinely enjoying themselves.

  • Dev Patel and Freida Pinto

Dev Patela and Frieda Pinto

Dev looks great – love the fit of his suit, but I’m not a fan of Freida’s dress.  It is a good colour, but I expect more than that from her.  She usually gets it so right!  I hate the one-side-sleeve, one-side-no-sleeve look, so that is my main problem with this dress.  But I also think it would be better if it was more cinched in at the waist.

 

  • Here we have Virginia Marsden.  I don’t know who she is, but I don’t like her dress.  It’s so boxy and, I suspect, unflattering.

virginia-madsen-is-wearing-a-red-one-shoulder-gown-by-kevan-hall-with-laurie-rodkin-jewels

 

  • Robert Downey Jr and his wife Susan:

 robert-downey-jr-with-his-wife-susan

I love Robert Downey Jr’s look here – the cut, colour and detailing are all gorgeous.  I don’t really have an opinion on Susan’s dress, except that it really suits her and she looks pretty.

  • Tilda Swinton turned up looking quite normal for Tilda Swinton:

tilda-swinton-on-the-red-carpet-in-a-beige-draped-blouse-and-black-satin-skirt-both-by-lanvin

I actually don’t mind this.  I probably wouldn’t like this on anyone else, but I think she looks nice.

I just thought of something.  I wonder if Tilda has a stylist, or if she puts together all of her crazy oufits herself?

 

  • Mickey Rooney and guest:

mickey-rooney-and-guest-on-the-red-carpet1

I’m not going to comment on what they’re wearing, but how old is Mickey Rooney?  (88 – I just checked)

  • Marisa Tomei was another of my favourites.

marisa-tomei

So very pretty! and interesting!

 

  • I actually really liked what Mickey Rourke was wearing:

mickey-rourke

I don’t usually like white suits, but this looks good, and now I can’t imagine him wearing the traditional black.  The suglasses look pretty good too, but sunglasses indoors is a bit weird.  I thought he might have been using them to hide behind, when they were reading out his nomination and the camera was pointing straight at him.  Which reminds me, did anyone else notice Robert Pattinson sitting behind Mickey?  He looked kinda both scared and bored, with his head sort of bent down.

  • I noticed that there seemed to be a trend for vintage glamour/old Hollywood style dresses on the night, and despite there being so many, I never got bored.

 

  • There seemed to be a lot of gorgeous Elie Saab dresses around as well.

 

  • I know I’ve missed things (and people), but all in all, I thought the Oscars were great.  I’ve watched it the whole way through before, but I loved it.  I wish they’d show more of the awards shows on Australian TV.

 

All pictures from oscars.com and nymag.com.

~ by vanityandpride on February 24, 2009.

5 Responses to “My Thoughts on Oscars 2009 Part 2”

  1. […] Part 2. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Coming up: BlackInformant.com book review–”From The Heart: Seven Rules …“…while the NAACP is an advocacy organization, it needs to be more focu…Hot headlines… […]

  2. I agree with you on all points!!

  3. I don’t blame you for not commenting on the Rooney’s. Mrs. Rooney looks like she’s wearing the lining of a coffin. All the other women looked very elegant.

  4. You’re right, Jean. Very velvety and kinda scary.

  5. […] Seymour Hoffman at the Oscars – figured out who he reminded me of Yesterday I posted about what Philip Seymour Hoffman wore to the Oscars.  Since then, I’ve been thinking about […]

Leave a Reply

 
