Where the Wild Things Are trailer and what I’m thinking

Where the Wild Things Are

 

Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (1963) used to scare the hell out of me as a child, and therefore I hated it.  It turns out I wasn’t the only one frightened by it:

 

 

“The book became a bestseller, though there was some controversy over the drawings of monsters. In the book The Art of Maurice Sendak the following is noted in a conversation between a mother and the author:

Mother: “Every time I read the book to my daughter, she screams.”
Sendak: “Then why did you continue reading it to her when she does not like it?”
Mother: “She ought to, it’s a Caldecott book.”

Sendak mentioned that he thought that was ridiculous and “if a child does not like a book, throw it in the trash.”

 

Anyway, now it’s been turned into a movie and I think it actually looks pretty good.

 WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE

 

It is directed by Spike Jonze and features the voices of Forest Whitaker, Paul Dano (I love him in Little Miss Sunshine!), James Gandolfini and Catherine O’Hara, among others.

The trailer and poster don’t seem to have the same dark feel that the book had, but it may just be that I’m remembering it wrong.

It’s Australian release date is 10 December 2009 and in the US, it’s 16 October 2009.  I’m not sure if I’ll bother to go see it yet, but at least it looks interesting!

~ by vanityandpride on March 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Where the Wild Things Are trailer and what I’m thinking”

  1. Oh, man, I felt the same way. My mom never read it to me, respecting my loathing, but they read it in school. I couldn’t relate to the feelings of the boy, and the monsters scared me, and I didn’t like anything about it. I had mixed feelings watching the trailer. It looked good, and I wondered if I had seen a movie like that if I would have felt differently about the story.

    I have small kids, and I try to respect what scares them, but sometimes I forget how it is to be two. I told my son and his friend the story of the Three Pigs and the Big Bad Wolf, and even though my version ended with everyone eating chocolate cake together, “Friends!” at the end, the little three year old girl told me solumnly, “That’s a scary story.”

  2. Oh I am so glad to discover that I wasn’t the only one scared by it lol
    My Mum did insist on reading it to me and quoting it (she still does today). You are so right about how easy it is to forget what it was like to be young. I have completely lost that child’s perspective, which in many ways is a pity, but, of course, it is also very, very helpful in that I am not so easily frightened.

Leave a Reply

 
